KidsBuzz

Berserker by Emmy Laybourne Cold War on Maplewood Street by Gayle Rosengren        
Berserker
Meet the author
Emmy Laybourne
(Ages 13-18)
Cold War on Maplewood Street
Meet the author
Gayle Rosengren
(Ages 10-13)
       


Amanda Foody

Dear Librarians,

As a younger author, I was fortunate to grow up surrounded by excellent, numerous choices for teen fantasy, which became both my passion and inspiration. I wrote DAUGHTER OF THE BURNING CITY to explore themes I wanted to find in my books. Amid a backdrop of a sinister murder mystery and a magical carnival city, DAUGHTER is ultimately the story of a girl who feels like an outsider — both in her appearance and status — and finds empowerment through her inner strength, acceptance, and her family. In our world, girls are asked to be beautiful, to be pure, to be selfless, and it was important to me to write a character who neither begins or nor ends as a perfect model for any of those ideals. I hope readers will find that same empowerment through this journey.

Email akfoody@gmail.com to win signed copies, and visit www.amandafoody.com

Sincerely,
Amanda Foody

"Foody's stunning debut is full of velvety language, intricate worldbuilding, and a story that treads the fine line of horror and fantasy. This is the kind of read that makes your spine shiver, and your heart beat faster." —Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen

"Wow! A dark and dangerous tale, a world like no other and heroism of the weirdest kind!" —New York Times bestselling author Tamora Pierce

"Utterly original. Amanda Foody has a wicked imagination. If you enjoy your fantasy on the darker side, then you will love Gomorrah!" —Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

"I love the vivid, sumptuous world Amanda Foody has created: Sorina's magic, her illusionary family and the Gomorrah Festival make for a wildly inventive mystery I won't soon forget." -Virginia Boecker, author of The Witch Hunter series

"Readers who enjoyed their whirl in Garber's Caraval will want to get in line for entry to Gomorrah." —The Bulletin

"The way this dark, enchanting fantasy is dramatically woven into a murder mystery makes it a must read for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Laini Taylor and Holly Black." —Justine Magazine
Daughter of the Burning City / Amanda Foody / Harlequin TEEN

Price: $19.99 / ISBN: 978-0373212439 / Published: July, 2017

Ages 14+
Amanda Foody is one of our featured authors this week. Click here to view her reader comments and feel free to use them in your newsletters.